#1  
Old 11-23-2008, 11:54 AM
dplxy dplxy is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

after calls after calls to hp and att
i finally got my 3g work on my new mini 1000 model # 1033cl
1.6g, 1g, 60g

1st you need to download HP Multi-WWAN Driver Installer

here is the link: ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp41001-41500/sp41365.exe

once you finish download you will see sp41365.exe on your desktop
dont install it, unzip it, you can use winrar to do that
once you unpack you will see the picture below
double click Swisetup and install the driver



after you done that turn off your computer
and insert your sim card to the computer


turn on your computer
im using att, so i just open the HPQATTAgent
click setup and you are done =)
enjoy

To those asking about the password
: If you want to install AT&T service activation, you need to call AT&T and get the data card. You can't just use your current iPhone 3g card. I got mine @ my local AT&T store. Once you get the card, AT&T will give you your INDIVIDUAL passcode.

Last edited by Jenn; 11-25-2008 at 08:29 PM. Reason: Added update about password from post #31 of this thread for clarification
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:27 PM
Jenn's Avatar
Jenn Jenn is offline
Tech Zealot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,162
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

Wow! That's great, dplxy.

What kinds of speeds are you getting and how is it affecting battery life?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:32 PM
dplxy dplxy is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

speed is ok for normal email, web
around 1.5m
i was on 3g while i was posting pictures and what not
not bad
as far as battery
3 cell ftl -.-

i mean what were they thinking putting a 3 cell on this netbook....
so far the only thing i would change on this netbook would be a bigger ssd
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2008, 04:00 AM
commandokj commandokj is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

AWESOME! Had no idea software was all that was needed!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2008, 04:21 AM
orbitalcomp's Avatar
orbitalcomp orbitalcomp is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 709
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

This thread is now being linked by Engadget...

But one of the commenters did mention something interesting...why do the actual contacts of the SIM reflect on the bottom of the battery area? Wouldn't the SIM more than likely go in the other way?

If this actually works, this is great news...maybe HP messed up and sent these units out not realizing they had WWAN?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:13 AM
weatherman weatherman is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

I'm going to have to see a little more proof of this, like trying it myself, before I believe it. It's already well documented that the HP Mini 1000 has an open PCIe slot, which means it should be easy enough to put one in, but this post seems to suggest that there's a secret 3G chipset already in the hardware and I find that hard to believe. Of course I didn't bring my Mini 1000 to work with me so I can't confirm or disprove this right now, but you can bet it's the first thing I'm going to do when I get home.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:23 AM
R3ap3R's Avatar
R3ap3R R3ap3R is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

Now linked by Gizmodo as well as Engadget.... bet ArsTechnica will be right behind (wouldn't be surprised to see Wired / Switched pick it up as well). Gaining on Digg as well, heading for the front page in record time. Admin should optimize for HEAVY traffic or create a mirror..... the Digg effect will crash this forum.

Congrats to the OP... you're famous

And yes, it DOES work (I can confirm, and there are more confirmed results out of Gizmodo).

Last edited by R3ap3R; 11-24-2008 at 05:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:54 AM
christian christian is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by dplxy View Post
speed is ok for normal email, web
around 1.5m
i was on 3g while i was posting pictures and what not
not bad
as far as battery
3 cell ftl -.-

i mean what were they thinking putting a 3 cell on this netbook....
so far the only thing i would change on this netbook would be a bigger ssd
downloaded the driver, installed it,
tried to run the ATT agent, and it's asking for a service activation code.
anybody knows what that is ?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:59 AM
weatherman weatherman is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by R3ap3R View Post
And yes, it DOES work (I can confirm, and there are more confirmed results out of Gizmodo).
Please clarify - are you saying that it does work without adding your own 3G mini PCIe card?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-24-2008, 06:08 AM
R3ap3R's Avatar
R3ap3R R3ap3R is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by weatherman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by R3ap3R View Post
And yes, it DOES work (I can confirm, and there are more confirmed results out of Gizmodo).
Please clarify - are you saying that it does work without adding your own 3G mini PCIe card?
Indeed.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-24-2008, 06:30 AM
weatherman weatherman is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

Well, that suddenly goes from mildly interesting to very interesting... I might even have to leave work early today to check this out.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-24-2008, 06:58 AM
cakkes cakkes is offline
Tech Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Manila
Posts: 68
Send a message via Yahoo to cakkes
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

KUDOS to you dplxy and all those that never rests as long as minds are boggled, and curiosities tickled.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-24-2008, 07:20 AM
orbitalcomp's Avatar
orbitalcomp orbitalcomp is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 709
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by weatherman View Post
Well, that suddenly goes from mildly interesting to very interesting... I might even have to leave work early today to check this out.
same here...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-24-2008, 07:37 AM
dziedzicj dziedzicj is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

where can i download the ATT agent??
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-24-2008, 07:49 AM
szaras szaras is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: How to get 3G working on the HP Mini 1000

Will this work if I use the sim from my AT&T phone that has a data plan?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -10. The time now is 06:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Back to Top Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather. All rights reserved. About Pocketables | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact